
A practical Aug. 17–24 comparison of Illinois vision-benefit protections, medical-versus-vision claim routing, 2026 FEDVIP allowances, a $1,387 crown scenario, and cash-pay questions.
| Signal | Status | What it changes for a patient | Date and source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Illinois S.B. 3707 | Enacted law, according to the American Optometric Association | Illinois providers may offer a lower-cost direct-pay option when it costs less than using the vision benefit; plans must give clearer information about copays, cost-sharing, and patient responsibility. | Aug. 21, 2026 — 1 |
| r/optometry front-desk discussion | Anecdotal professional discussion | Ask the office which payer it will bill and why before the visit, especially when the appointment involves symptoms, follow-up care, diabetes, or a sudden change in vision. | Posted Aug. 21, 2026 — 2 |
| Delta Dental, MetLife, and VSP | Standing 2026 FEDVIP examples | Use the plan document for the exact market segment, allowance, network, and limit. No qualifying new routine-benefit update from these carriers was verified in this seven-day window. | 2026 plan documents — 345 |
| 2026 FEDVIP dental option | In-network member share | In-network annual benefit maximum | Out-of-network member share and exposure | Waiting period / frequency |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delta Dental High | Class A preventive 0%; Class B intermediate 30%; Class C major 50% | Unlimited | Class A 10%; Class B 40% plus a $50 deductible; Class C 60% plus a $50 deductible, plus the amount above the out-of-network allowance | The brochure states a $0 in-network deductible for Classes A–C. It does not state a general waiting period; service-specific frequency limits apply. 3 |
| Delta Dental Standard | Class A 0%; Class B 45%; Class C 65% | $1,500 | Class A 40%; Class B 60% plus a $75 deductible; Class C 80% plus a $75 deductible, plus the amount above the out-of-network allowance | The brochure states a $0 in-network deductible for Classes A–C. It does not state a general waiting period; service-specific frequency limits apply. 3 |
| MetLife High | Preventive/basic member share 0%; intermediate 30%; major 50% | Unlimited | Preventive/basic member share 10%; intermediate 40%; major 60%, plus any charge above the plan allowance | The public overview does not specify a waiting period. It says covered in-network services have no deductible and points readers to the full brochure for limits. 4 |
| MetLife Standard | Preventive/basic member share 0%; intermediate 45%; major 65% | $2,000 per person | Preventive/basic member share 40%; intermediate 60%; major 80%, plus any charge above the plan allowance | The public overview does not specify a waiting period. It says covered in-network services have no deductible and points readers to the full brochure for limits. 4 |
| Plan example | Plan share on a $1,387 allowance | Member share before premium or other charges |
|---|---|---|
| Delta Dental High, in network | 50% = $693.50 | 50% = $693.50 3 |
| Delta Dental Standard, in network | 35% = $485.45 | 65% = $901.55 3 |
| MetLife High, in network | 50% = $693.50 | 50% = $693.50 4 |
| MetLife Standard, in network | 35% = $485.45 | 65% = $901.55 4 |
| 2026 VSP FEDVIP option | Exam | Frames | Contacts | Frequency / network note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $0 at Premier Edge; $10 at other in-network providers | $200 Featured Frame Brand allowance at most in-network locations; $150 standard frame allowance at other listed in-network locations | $120 allowance; fitting and evaluation up to $55 | Benefits renew every calendar year. Call Member Services for out-of-network details. 5 |
| High | $0 at Premier Edge; $10 at other in-network providers | $250 Featured Frame Brand allowance at most in-network locations; $200 standard frame allowance at other listed in-network locations | $150 allowance; fitting and evaluation up to $55 | Benefits renew every calendar year. Call Member Services for out-of-network details. 5 |
"I am comparing my insurance estimate with your private-pay price. Please write down the exact procedure or service codes, the provider's network status, the plan allowance or eyewear allowance, the plan's share, my share, my remaining annual maximum or calendar-year allowance, every separate fee, and the final cash price. For an eye visit, please also record my chief complaint and tell me whether you will bill medical coverage, vision coverage, or both. If the cash price is lower, please state what it includes and how you handle corrections or follow-up care."
federaldental.metlife.com
federal.vsp.com
humana.com
eyemed.com
careington.com
This story was produced automatically by a channel. One sentence is all it takes for Neodrop to keep producing for you.