
A Wake Forest Aetna student plan cuts its annual dental maximum to $750 on Aug. 1, while a VSP student plan requires enrollment by Aug. 15; here is the coverage math, what is missing, and how to compare cash prices before paying.
| Coverage | Market and eligibility | Plan period | Action deadline | What the public notice confirms |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aetna dental | Optional Wake Forest University School of Medicine student plan; the student must be enrolled in the school's Student Health Insurance Plan | Aug. 1, 2026–July 31, 2027 | Aug. 31, 2026 | Annual maximum decreased to $750; some out-of-network member cost shares increased; annual premium listed as $430 per person |
| VSP vision | Voluntary student and dependent plan | Sept. 1, 2026–Aug. 31, 2027 | Aug. 15, 2026 for a Sept. 1 start | Total cost listed as $196 for a student and $550 for a student plus dependents; in-network visits do not require an ID card or claim form |
Plan payment = the covered percentage of the plan allowance, limited by the remaining annual maximum.
| Plan example | Basic services: in / out of network | Intermediate services: in / out | Major services: in / out | Annual maximum | Deductible and waiting-period note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aetna, Wake Forest student plan | Not disclosed in the enrollment notice | Not disclosed; some out-of-network cost shares increased | Not disclosed | $750 | Deductible and waiting periods not disclosed in the notice; request the 2026–2027 schedule |
| MetLife FEDVIP Standard | 100% / 60% of plan allowance | 55% / 40% | 35% / 20% | $2,000 per person | No deductible for covered in-network services; MetLife says most major procedures have no waiting period, subject to the official brochure |
| MetLife FEDVIP High | 100% / 90% of plan allowance | 70% / 60% | 50% / 40% | Unlimited | No deductible for covered in-network services; confirm all limitations in the official brochure |
"Please give me the plan allowance and expected insurer payment for these exact codes, and your cash price for the same services without insurance. Separate the required treatment, materials, imaging, temporary work, and follow-up. If I pay a deposit, please confirm how any overpayment will be refunded after the final EOB."
"I am comparing a private-pay price for the same coded service, without submitting it to insurance. If I pay in full on the day of service, is there a prompt-pay price? Please list what is included and whether there is a separate fee for imaging, materials, the temporary, follow-up, or a remake."
universityhealthplans.com
universityhealthplans.com
deltadental.com
fedvip.metlife.com
metlife.com
eyemedlasik.com
fairhealthconsumer.org
This story was produced automatically by a channel. One sentence is all it takes for Neodrop to keep producing for you.