Neodrop
Create
FeedDiscoverMy ChannelsAuto-publishJoin Our Discord
FeedDiscoverCreateMy Channels
US Data Center Tracker: Six October Milestones, From a $100B Virginia Filing to a $15B Texas Campus the County Heard About the Next Day
2026-11-01

US Data Center Tracker: Six October Milestones, From a $100B Virginia Filing to a $15B Texas Campus the County Heard About the Next Day

A six-project ledger of October 2026 US data-center milestones, from STACK's $100 billion Virginia permit filing and Meta's 40-year Kentucky tax deal to a 4 GW Pennsylvania rezoning, two Texas construction starts and the 36-building AWS plan still under county review.

AI Data Centers Watchdog
AI Data Centers Watchdog@Rachel K
The October 1–31, 2026 window produced six US data-center milestones, from a $100 billion Virginia campus entering joint permitting to a Texas dome project that broke ground before the county heard about it.
Every entry uses one ledger: location, owner or developer, the October milestone, investment, power, projected jobs, and community response. Three distinctions run through it. Power figures separate a campus's own IT load from the generation, transmission or substation capacity built to serve it. Dollar figures separate capital spending from a lease value, a land sale or a developer estimate. Job figures separate peak construction work from permanent operations.

October at a glance

ProjectLocationOwner / developerOctober milestoneInvestmentPowerProjected jobsCommunity response
Project CrossroadsBerry Hill megasite, Pittsylvania County, VirginiaSTACK Infrastructure; end user undisclosedJoint permit application filed with state and federal agencies, reported Oct. 20Up to $100B over 15 yearsUp to 3,000 MW at full buildout, mostly on-site generation; 299 MW utility load floor by end of 2028More than 2,000 permanent; permit documents describe more than 2,500 jobs paying above $80,000No local cash incentives; up to $48M a year in county property tax at buildout; water to come from Danville and Eden, N.C. 12
Mason County campusNear Maysville, Mason County, KentuckyMeta, through subsidiary Crisham LLCFiscal court approved development and revenue agreement, Oct. 13$10B initial capital per the county; about $15B for phase one per the county's attorneyAbout 400 MW in the first building; up to six buildings at buildout2,000 construction and trades; at least 400 permanent at buildout, about 100 in phase one40-year local property tax exemption with payments in lieu; more than $130M in water, road and public safety commitments; a residents' lawsuit filed 34
Salem 3Salem Township, Luzerne County, Pennsylvania4-3 Glennbrook Group; end user unnamedSupervisors expanded the data-center overlay district 2–0, Oct. 27$1.2B to $1.4B land sale; campus cost unpublished4 GW of planned demand, with generation built at the developer's expenseMore than 2,000, construction and permanent not separated$43M community benefit agreement including a $12M micro-hospital; eight of 13 speakers at the hearing in favor 56
Hueco RanchDesert Haven, Hudspeth County, TexasKaufman & Company; ServerDomes GlobalGroundbreaking, Oct. 7$15B, reported and unconfirmed by any filing350 MW planned when complete; on-site geothermal and solarAbout 800 construction and 200 to 300 permanent, per the county judgeCounty officials were not told before work started; no tax abatements sought; a road-use agreement is still in negotiation 78
Beacon PointBetween Robstown and Calallen, Nueces County, TexasHut 8; tenants undisclosedConstruction started, reported Oct. 16Almost $399M for the first phase; $17B to $20B for the campus1 GW across two buildings; AEP Texas interconnectionNearly 2,000 construction; about 230 permanentWater, noise and light raised at city briefings; the company is discussing sound walls and vegetation with neighbours 910
Homer City Energy CampusCenter and Blacklick townships, Indiana County, PennsylvaniaAmazon Data Services; Homer City Redevelopment36-building plan tabled by county planners; engineering review commissioned Oct. 14Not disclosed; Amazon has pledged $20B across Pennsylvania4.5 GW gas plant on site; campus IT load not disclosed1,500 to 2,000 operational jobsCounty still accepting comment; residents' group asked for rejection; a discharge-permit hearing was held Oct. 14 1112

1. STACK puts a $100B, 21-building campus into joint permitting in Pittsylvania County

STACK Infrastructure filed a joint permit application in October with Virginia's Department of Environmental Quality, the US Army Corps of Engineers and other agencies for Project Crossroads at the Berry Hill megasite in Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Cardinal News reported the filing's contents on Oct. 20, and WDBJ7 reported the project's scale on Oct. 26. 12
Site boundary and limits of disturbance for Project Crossroads at the Berry Hill megasite
The site boundary in the filed map (blue) encloses 1,715 developable acres inside the 3,528-acre megasite; the magenta line marks the 1,733 acres the developer expects to disturb during construction, threading between the numbered parcels of adjacent owners. Map filed with the joint permit application and published with Cardinal News's Oct. 20 report.
  • Investment: The permit information puts potential investment at up to $100 billion over 15 years. A document in the filing calls it the largest private single-investment commitment on record with the Virginia Economic Development Partnership. 1
  • Power: Twenty-one buildings would draw up to 3,000 MW at full buildout, mostly from generation built on site across a 205-acre pair of energy campuses. A 150 MW substation is planned to be running by 2028, and a March performance agreement requires at least 299 MW of Appalachian Power load by the end of that year. The 3,000 MW is a ceiling, the county's economic development director told WDBJ7. 12
  • Jobs: Permit documents describe more than 2,500 jobs at salaries above $80,000 over 20 years, while WDBJ7 reports more than 2,000 permanent positions. The filing does not split construction from operations. 12
  • Community response: The project takes no local discretionary incentives, and the county projects up to $48 million a year in property tax at buildout, which would make STACK its largest taxpayer. Water would come from Danville Utilities, up to 1 million gallons a day, and from Eden, North Carolina, up to 6 million, drawn from capacity Eden lost when the MillerCoors brewery closed in 2016. The county says the campus cannot affect Danville Utilities rates because the megasite sits in Appalachian Power's territory. 1
The application is the step that converts a March land deal into a documented build programme. STACK expects a permit decision by March 2027, and the plan still needs approvals from Virginia and the Corps. 2

2. Mason County names Meta, and the price is a 40-year property tax exemption

Mason County's fiscal court voted unanimously on Oct. 13 to approve a development and community revenue agreement with Meta for a campus near Maysville, Kentucky. The vote ended more than a year in which local officials had signed non-disclosure agreements and would not name the company. Meta's vehicle for the project is Crisham LLC. 34
  • Investment: The county's release puts initial capital investment at $10 billion. The attorney presenting the deal, Jim Parsons, told the fiscal court that phase one would total about $15 billion. 4
  • Power: The first phase is one building of nearly 400 MW, between 600,000 and 800,000 square feet, on a site of roughly 2,900 acres, with room for up to six buildings. Meta covers several hundred million dollars of transmission upgrades and the agreement bars those costs from ratepayers. 4
  • Jobs: Officials project 2,000 construction and trades jobs, and at least 400 permanent jobs at full buildout, of which about 100 arrive with the first building. Construction is expected to start within three years. 34
  • Community response: The county would issue industrial revenue bonds lasting up to 40 years, which exempts the campus from local property tax and replaces it with payments of $5 million a year per phase to the county and $2 million a year per phase to schools, capped at $30 million and $12 million a year. Upfront commitments exceed $115 million and the agreement commits at least $130 million, including a $45 million water treatment plant for Maysville, $40 million to $60 million for water and sewer expansion, and $15 million for public safety. We Are Mason County, the residents' group that fought the secrecy, is pressing for the final revenue agreement, and a residents' lawsuit has been filed. 34
The deal lands as Kentucky decides how far to go with data-center incentives. The state created the programme in 2024 and expanded it in 2025, at least one Republican leader has signalled the breaks could be trimmed, and the Kentucky Lantern reported that the governor's office did not answer questions about whether Meta is also seeking state incentives. 34

3. Salem Township nearly triples its data-center district for a 4 GW campus

Salem Township supervisors voted 2–0 on Oct. 27 to expand the township's special data-center overlay district by about 4,466 acres for a campus called Salem 3, after a public hearing at the Berwick Assembly of God Church. Supervisor Steven Fraind abstained because his mother's house is part of the land sale. The same evening the board added 185 acres for a fourth campus requested by Moores 109 LLC. 56
  • Investment: The land assembly behind the campus is a $1.2 billion sale across 194 families, according to The Citizens' Voice; the developer's own release describes a potential $1.4 billion sale. No campus construction cost has been published. 56
  • Power: The campus is planned around 4 GW of demand, with new generation and infrastructure built at the developer's expense, under Governor Josh Shapiro's Executive Order 2026-05 and the state's GRID requirements. Salem Township sits inside PJM, next to the Susquehanna nuclear plant and an existing combined-cycle gas plant. 6
  • Jobs: The developer estimates the campus could support more than 2,000 jobs, without separating construction from permanent operations. 6
  • Community response: The developer is offering a $43 million community benefit agreement, including $12 million for a stabilize-and-transfer micro-hospital with a round-the-clock emergency department on 42 acres at U.S. Route 11 and Stone Church Road, replacing a hospital that closed in 2022. The company also promised setbacks of 1,500 and 1,000 feet from Mills and Bower roads, ambient sound studies, baseline well-water tests for any resident who asks, and help with displaced feral cats from the neighbouring QTS site. Thirteen residents spoke: eight in favor, five against. Kira Ryman objected that no cumulative health study, sound barrier requirement or decommissioning plan came with the vote, and Teri Barren raised conflict-of-interest questions about the supervisors. 5
The overlay vote settles zoning. The developer still needs land development plan approvals from the supervisors and permits from the state. 5

4. A $15B dome campus breaks ground in Hudspeth County before the county knows

Kaufman & Company and ServerDomes Global broke ground on Oct. 7 at Hueco Ranch, a geodesic-dome data-center campus near Desert Haven in Hudspeth County, Texas, about 28 miles east of El Paso on US Highway 62/180. County Judge Joanna MacKenzie heard about the project on Oct. 8, the day after work began, and went to the site to meet the contractors. 78
  • Investment: The project is reported at $15 billion. No state permit filing has surfaced that would substantiate the figure, and the developers have published no cost breakdown. 8
  • Power: ServerDomes lists the campus at 350 MW when complete, with the first 80 MW running 16 months after construction starts. The site sits in Rio Grande Electric Cooperative's territory on the Western grid that serves El Paso, so it falls outside ERCOT. The company says each dome draws up to 90 percent of its power from behind-the-meter sources and that it is developing its own geothermal and solar generation, with surplus sold to outside users. 8
  • Jobs: MacKenzie expects about 800 construction jobs and 200 to 300 permanent jobs. The developers have not published job counts. 8
  • Community response: Project representatives apologized for the lack of notice and said conversations should have started sooner. Texas counties have no zoning authority over private land, so the county's leverage is disclosure: the project is not seeking county tax abatements, road-use agreements are still being negotiated, and the landowner is donating caliche for road repairs. Representatives were scheduled to present to the Commissioners Court on Oct. 27. Water comes from a well on the property, drawn once during setup, after which a roof catchment feeds a closed loop. 78
The groundbreaking is the milestone, and the file behind it is thin. The 350 MW stays a plan until the developers publish a resource, an interconnection agreement or a permit. 8

5. Hut 8 starts building its $17B Nueces County campus

Hut 8 has started construction at Beacon Point, a 525-acre campus at 4650 FM 1694 between Robstown and Calallen in Nueces County, Texas, according to Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation records reported by the Caller Times on Oct. 16. About 200 workers are on site, a figure the company expects to reach 1,000 by early next year. 910
  • Investment: The first phase is filed at almost $399 million for 657,130 square feet, with completion scheduled for Nov. 5, 2027. The Corpus Christi Regional Economic Development Corporation puts the campus at $9.8 billion, and KIII reports a total cost of $17 billion to $20 billion. Two lease agreements signed by an undisclosed company total $19.6 billion as of July. 910
  • Power: The campus is planned for 1 GW across two data centers run by two tenants, with electricity delivery locked in by an interconnection agreement with AEP Texas. 910
  • Jobs: The project is expected to create nearly 2,000 construction jobs and about 230 permanent positions once the campus runs around the clock. 10
  • Community response: Hut 8 paid $13 million in permitting fees to the City of Corpus Christi, whose council was briefed on Oct. 12. Councilwoman Sylvia Campos asked how the water use would be managed; the company's senior director for project management, Collier Pruner, said operations need municipal water only for restrooms and sinks, with a single fill of a closed loop sourced outside the county. The company is discussing sound walls, vegetation or both with the closest neighbours, and Corpus Christi's development services department is drafting an ordinance on where data centers may locate. 910
The state has its own hold on data-center permitting. Governor Greg Abbott directed the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality on Sept. 21 to issue no data center permits until ERCOT completes an audit, and Hut 8's grid connection runs through ERCOT. 9

6. AWS files a 36-building programme at Homer City, and Indiana County slows it down

Amazon Data Services has proposed 36 data-center buildings on about 1,100 acres at the former Homer City Generating Station in Center and Blacklick townships, Indiana County, Pennsylvania, roughly 50 miles east of Pittsburgh. County planners tabled the preliminary land development plan on Sept. 9, and on Oct. 14 the county commissioners' agenda included an agreement with Gibson-Thomas Engineering to review it. 1112
Kimley Horn site plan showing 36 data-center buildings across six site areas at the Homer City Energy Campus
Kimley Horn's overall campus site plan splits the 36 buildings across six site areas — Bruner, Helen, Green, West, Harvey/Gaston and Rura — with the power block and a new power plant road between the Helen/Green and Rura clusters. Plan filed with the preliminary land development plan and published with Data Center Dynamics' Oct. 6 report.
  • Investment: No campus capital cost has been published. Amazon has separately pledged $20 billion of data-center investment across Pennsylvania, and Knighthead Capital Management is helping finance this project. 11
  • Power: Each building would be two stories, 70 feet tall and about 225,000 square feet. The campus would draw on a 4.5 GW natural-gas plant that Homer City Redevelopment is building on the former coal site, with most of the output going to the campus and more than 1 GW injected back into the grid. The campus's own IT load is unpublished, so the 4.5 GW is generation, not demand. 11
  • Jobs: An estimated 1,500 to 2,000 jobs once operational, at average salaries of $80,000 to $100,000. 11
  • Community response: Construction is scheduled in four phases, from December 2026 to a final phase starting in January 2032, with completion targeted for June 2036. Concerned Residents of Western Pennsylvania, the citizens' group opposing the wider energy campus, asked the planning commission to reject the application and called it incomplete on technical, environmental and infrastructure grounds. The county is accepting public comment until the planning commission decides, and has said it lacks authority to stop a lawful business. The state Department of Environmental Protection held a public meeting and hearing on a wastewater discharge permit for the gas plant at Homer Center High School on Oct. 14. 1112
The plan is a proposal, and the county's review has no deadline attached to it. Indiana County expects to have a subdivision and land development amendment covering large utility loads ready by Nov. 18, which would set the rules the next applicant meets. 12

What October changed

On-site generation is now the default posture. STACK's filing leans on 3,000 MW built on site with a 299 MW utility floor underneath it. Meta pays for several hundred million dollars of transmission upgrades. Salem 3 promises generation at the developer's expense. Hueco Ranch is betting on geothermal and solar. AWS sits behind a 4.5 GW gas plant. For AWS and Hueco Ranch the campus IT load is unpublished, so their generation figures cannot be read as demand. 146811
The dollar figures in this issue measure different things. STACK's $100 billion is a 15-year buildout, Hut 8's $399 million is one building, and its $19.6 billion is the value of two leases rather than construction. Salem 3's $1.2 billion to $1.4 billion is the land, Meta's $10 billion and $15 billion come from two people in the same hearing, and Hueco Ranch's $15 billion has no filing behind it. Ranking these projects by headline dollars puts the least documented second. 14589
The instrument of local leverage depends on state law. Virginia's filing brings tax revenue and water contracts, with no local cash incentive. Kentucky traded four decades of property tax for a water plant, road work and school payments. Pennsylvania's townships grant zoning, and the developer answers with a micro-hospital. In Texas, Hudspeth County has no zoning and learned about its project afterward, while Hut 8's campus reaches Corpus Christi's council through permitting fees and a briefing. 145910
Restrictions kept spreading in places these six projects are not. Volusia County banned data centers of 50 MW or more in unincorporated areas on Oct. 20. Manatee County adopted a 12-month moratorium on Oct. 8. San Joaquin County adopted a 45-day urgency moratorium on Oct. 7 with no application pending. Loudoun County deferred its proposed 12-month pause from Oct. 20 to Nov. 17. None of those jurisdictions contains one of the six projects above. 13141516

November watch list

  • Project Crossroads: STACK expects a permit decision by March 2027. The Corps' review of 212 acres of wetlands and the 300-acre conservation easement on the Dan River are the parts that can still change the footprint.
  • Mason County: the final revenue agreement, the residents' lawsuit, and whether Kentucky's legislature trims the incentive programme the deal depends on.
  • Salem 3: land development plans before the supervisors and state permits, plus the separate 185-acre campus approved for Moores 109 LLC the same night.
  • Hueco Ranch: a road-use agreement with Hudspeth County and any filing that substantiates the $15 billion or the 350 MW.
  • Beacon Point: the identity of the two tenants, the second building, and whether the ERCOT audit behind the state's permit pause touches the AEP Texas interconnection.
  • Homer City: the Indiana County planning commission's decision, the large-load land development amendment due Nov. 18, and the Department of Environmental Protection's discharge permit.
  • Fluidstack in Cameron County: the developer's Sept. 21 community filing describes a first phase of up to 1.5 GW, a capacity the company had not disclosed when it started site work in September. 17
  • Elections and county votes: 39 data-center measures are on the November ballot in eight states, and the Loudoun Board of Supervisors takes up its pause resolution on Nov. 17. 1618

References

  1. 1
    Cardinal News\

    cardinalnews.org

  2. 2
    WDBJ7\

    wdbj7.com

  3. 3
    Kentucky Lantern\

    kentuckylantern.com

  4. 4
    Baxtel\

    baxtel.com

  5. 5
    The Citizens' Voice\

    citizensvoice.com

  6. 6
    4-3 Glennbrook Group\

    globenewswire.com

  7. 7
    Border Report\

    borderreport.com

  8. 8
    Baxtel\

    baxtel.com

  9. 9
    Corpus Christi Caller Times\

    caller.com

  10. 10
    KIII\

    kiiitv.com

  11. 11
    Data Center Dynamics\

    datacenterdynamics.com

  12. 12
    Indiana Gazette\

    indianagazette.com

  13. 13
    ClickOrlando\

    clickorlando.com

  14. 14
    Manatee County\

    mymanatee.org

  15. 15
    Stocktonia\

    stocktonia.org

  16. 16
    Data Center Feed\

    datacenterfeed.com

  17. 17
    Data Center Frontier

    datacenterfrontier.com

  18. 18
    Truthout\

    truthout.org

AI Data Centers Watchdog
AI Data Centers Watchdog@Rachel K

This story was produced automatically by a channel. One sentence is all it takes for Neodrop to keep producing for you.

Related content

  • October at a glance
  • 1. STACK puts a $100B, 21-building campus into joint permitting in Pittsylvania County
  • 2. Mason County names Meta, and the price is a 40-year property tax exemption
  • 3. Salem Township nearly triples its data-center district for a 4 GW campus
  • 4. A $15B dome campus breaks ground in Hudspeth County before the county knows
  • 5. Hut 8 starts building its $17B Nueces County campus
  • 6. AWS files a 36-building programme at Homer City, and Indiana County slows it down
  • What October changed
  • November watch list