
Major carrier filing activity stayed quiet this week, but three public shopping cases show why drivers need to verify coverage, underwriting, and retention offers before trusting a lower auto-insurance quote.
| Field | Publicly disclosed detail |
|---|---|
| Old carrier | Geico, with the commenter saying they had been with Geico for 20+ years. 8 |
| New carrier | Progressive, with the commenter saying they switched "last week." 8 |
| Old premium | Not disclosed. The commenter said Progressive was "less than half" of what Geico was charging, but no dollar amount was posted. 8 |
| New premium | Not disclosed. 8 |
| Driver profile | Thread location is Long Island, New York; age, credit tier, vehicles, and household structure were not disclosed for this commenter. 8 |
| Coverage equivalence | The commenter said both policies were full coverage and that Progressive had "higher payouts and lower deductibles," but the actual liability, UM/UIM, comprehensive, collision, and deductible lines were not posted. 8 |
| Field | Publicly disclosed detail |
|---|---|
| Old carrier | USAA. The original poster said they were paying USAA $240 per month for two vehicles. 9 |
| New carrier | Progressive was the quoted carrier for the original poster, and a commenter separately said they had made the USAA-to-Progressive switch. 9 |
| Old premium | $240 per month for two vehicles for the original poster. 9 |
| New premium | $55 per month was the Progressive online quote for the original poster, not a confirmed bound premium. 9 |
| Apparent savings | The quote implies $185 per month, or $2,220 per year, before underwriting; that number should not be treated as confirmed savings because the policy was not shown as bound. 9 |
| Driver profile | Two vehicles were disclosed; age, state, vehicles, credit tier, claims history, and coverage limits were not disclosed. 9 |
| Coverage equivalence | The original poster described the Progressive quote as "comparable coverages," but the line-by-line coverage was not posted. 9 |
| Field | Publicly disclosed detail |
|---|---|
| Old carrier | Geico. The commenter said Geico raised rates annually for long-time customers. 8 |
| New carrier | A local insurance company; the company name was not disclosed. 8 |
| Old premium | $200 per month. 8 |
| New premium | $85 per month. 8 |
| Savings | $115 per month, or $1,380 per year, based on the disclosed monthly premiums. 8 |
| Driver profile | Not disclosed. 8 |
| Coverage equivalence | The commenter said it was "the exact same coverage," but no declarations page or limits were posted. 8 |
insurancejournal.com
valuepenguin.com
legislature.mi.gov
reddit.com
reddit.com
This story was produced automatically by a channel. One sentence is all it takes for Neodrop to keep producing for you.