
Pricing & Feature Watch: August 3–9, 2026 — free tiers, trade-in math, and gated access
Seven verified product moves from August 3–9 show companies opening ordinary use, metering expensive AI work, raising trade-in credits, and moving features across ecosystem boundaries.
The week in one view
From August 3 through August 9, 2026, seven product moves changed the price, reach, or friction of getting value from a product. OpenAI removed text-chat limits from ChatGPT's free access, Apple raised trade-in values ahead of its next hardware cycle, and MacPaw began testing credits for AI operations in Setapp. Disney is considering a free, ad-supported Disney Plus tier, while Tinder is taking its Events tab from an LA beta toward 75 cities.
The other three moves are about access rather than list price: Signal now links an iPhone to another iPhone and can transfer 45 days of saved media, Apple is preparing iPhone-to-Windows copy and paste for EU users, and the two companies' rollout dates make clear how much of the benefit is still future-dated.
| Company / product | What changed | Magnitude or status | Commercial read |
|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI / ChatGPT | Removed limits on text-based chats for all users; added a Think control for Free and Go | 1 billion weekly users; limits remain on files, images, voice, and image generation; rollout this month 1 | Make the free surface useful enough to become the default AI habit while keeping expensive modalities metered |
| Apple / Trade In | Raised maximum trade-in values across iPhone, Mac, iPad, and Watch; added selected Android phones | iPhone 16 Pro: $560→$630 (+12.5%); Mac Studio: $1,045→$1,305 (+24.9%); effective August 6 2 | Lower the net price of a new device without cutting its sticker price |
| MacPaw / Setapp and Eney | Partnered with Liquid AI on on-device inference and is experimenting with credit-based AI pricing | Setapp has more than 150,000 paying users; no public credit rate card or launch date 3 | Meter costly AI work while using local processing to make the product economics more controllable |
| Disney / Disney Plus | Began considering a free, ad-supported product | No launch, timing, or price announced; Disney says it is exploring the option for price-sensitive viewers 4 | Reopen the top of the funnel as YouTube and other free services pressure paid streaming |
| Tinder / Events | Expanded in-person events beyond its LA beta | 26 cities globally by end of September, 75 by end of 2026; Tinder revenue fell and monthly active users were down 7% year over year 5 | Add a real-world reason to open a dating app when online matching is losing momentum |
| Signal / iOS 8.22 | Added iPhone-to-iPhone account linking and optional encrypted history transfer | Full message history plus the last 45 days of saved media; rolling out now 6 | Remove a switching and backup pain point without introducing a paid tier |
| Apple / iPhone and Windows | Working on cross-device clipboard sharing for EU users | Planned developer beta after Apple expects to finish in fall 2027; not shipped 7 | Turn regulatory interoperability into a lower-friction bridge to Windows devices |
OpenAI makes the free tier harder to outgrow
What changed: OpenAI is removing limits on text-based chats for all ChatGPT users. Free and Go users are also getting a Think control for more deliberate reasoning on complex questions. The change does not make every modality unlimited: separate limits still apply to files, images, voice, and image generation. 1
The rollout is staged. TechCrunch reports that GPT-5.6 Sol is available to Plus and Pro users, while the Free and Go changes are arriving during August. The unlimited text access and Think control are scheduled for the following week, rather than appearing as one simultaneous switch. 1
Magnitude: ChatGPT has crossed 1 billion weekly users, according to the report. That number measures weekly usage, not the number of paying subscribers. The more useful product boundary is the one OpenAI kept: text becomes broadly available, while compute-heavy inputs and outputs remain capacity-controlled. 1

Commercial signal: OpenAI is lowering the chance that a free user hits a frustrating wall during ordinary text work. That can increase habit and keep ChatGPT in the default position even as competitors offer generous free access. The company can still meter the actions most likely to create variable inference and storage costs: image generation, voice, file analysis, and images.
This is a sharper version of a freemium funnel. The free tier is not merely a sample of the product; it is becoming a complete text assistant with selected high-cost actions kept behind limits. The conversion question moves from "Can I use it?" to "How often do I need the expensive modes?"
Watch next: Track whether OpenAI introduces a message ceiling again during peak demand, or raises limits on files, voice, and images for paid tiers. Those are the remaining places where a user can still feel the subscription boundary.
Apple raises the value of the old device instead of cutting the new one
What changed: Apple updated its trade-in table on August 6. Maximum values rose for most iPhone, iPad, Mac, and Apple Watch models, and Apple added selected Samsung Galaxy, Google Pixel, and OnePlus phones to the list. The quoted amounts are maximums; device condition, configuration, and model year still affect the actual offer. 2
Magnitude: The increases are uneven. An iPhone 16 Pro moved from $560 to $630, up 12.5%. The iPhone 16 Pro Max moved from $695 to $720, up 3.6%, while the iPhone 15 Pro Max rose from $490 to $530, up 8.2%. On the Mac side, the maximum MacBook Pro value increased from $690 to $855, up 23.9%, and Mac Studio rose from $1,045 to $1,305, up 24.9%. 2
Commercial signal: This is a discount delivered at checkout rather than on the price tag. Apple can preserve the visible price of a new device while reducing the customer's net outlay and improving the appeal of an upgrade. The move also pulls more used hardware into Apple's trade-in and refurbishment pipeline, although the source does not disclose how Apple will account for the additional units.
The timing matters. Apple's Upgrade leasing program already changed the comparison from upfront price to a monthly payment. Higher trade-in values add a second way to lower the effective entry cost without resetting the global list price. Customers can now compare monthly lease cost, trade-in credit, and resale value as separate levers.
Watch next: The important follow-up is not whether the headline maximum rises again. It is whether the updated values remain attractive after condition checks and whether Android trade-in additions materially widen Apple's upgrade funnel. A maximum value is a marketing signal; realized credit is the number that changes conversion.
MacPaw is building a meter for AI work inside an app store
What changed: MacPaw is partnering with Liquid AI to build a locally hosted version of its Eney assistant. Liquid AI is developing Elix, an on-device inference system, along with a local memory system. MacPaw says the longer-term goal is to let developers build assistants and agentic workflows that can run offline, while also giving users access to cloud models. 3
This is still in development. MacPaw has not published a launch date, and it has not published the number of credits a user would receive or the price of a credit. The company is experimenting with credit-based plans for Setapp's AI apps, where an operation consumes credits according to its complexity. Setapp has more than 150,000 paying users, giving the experiment a meaningful installed base even before a rate card exists. 3

Commercial signal: Credit pricing would let MacPaw charge for the amount of AI work a user requests rather than pretending that every operation has the same cost. Local inference could reduce the cloud bill for suitable tasks; the source presents that as a product direction, not as a demonstrated cost reduction. The combination gives Setapp room to offer a single app-store surface while preserving a visible meter for expensive operations.
For software buyers, this is the part to watch: a subscription may still buy access to the app, but the AI inside the app can become a separate consumption budget. That makes the boundary legible, but it also makes a supposedly flat subscription harder to compare across vendors.
Watch next: The missing variables are the credit table, which tasks run locally, which tasks route to cloud models, and whether unused credits expire. Until MacPaw publishes those rules, the move is a pricing architecture in progress, not a released plan.
Disney Plus tests the idea of a free front door
What changed: Disney CEO Josh D'Amaro said Disney is exploring a free product for consumers, potentially a free, ad-supported tier of Disney Plus. He also said there was "nothing specific to announce today." No launch date, price, catalog, or market rollout has been disclosed. 4
Magnitude: The measurable change is the status, not a price: this is a consideration, not a launch. Disney described the possible product as a way to reach a more price-sensitive customer segment. The Verge places the discussion against competition from free-to-watch services such as YouTube. 4
Commercial signal: A free tier would change Disney Plus from a paid product with an acquisition funnel into a product with its own free audience. That could create more ad inventory and give Disney a lower-friction way to sample its catalog. It could also make the paid tiers harder to position if the free catalog is too generous.
The company's wording matters more than the headline. Disney has not committed to shipping this, so there is no basis for forecasting a subscription-price cut or a near-term subscriber jump. The strategic signal is that paid streaming is no longer the only growth path under consideration; free reach is back on the table.
Watch next: The first real commitment will be a catalog boundary and a country. Those two details will show whether Disney wants a broad ad-supported acquisition layer or a narrow promotional channel for selected titles.
Tinder takes the dating app into the room where people meet
What changed: Tinder is expanding its in-person Events tab beyond the March beta in Los Angeles. The feature has already included more than 60 events, is moving into nine additional US and European cities, and is planned for 26 cities globally by the end of September and 75 cities by the end of 2026. 5
Tinder is using a low-cost partnership model with event providers rather than building a venue network itself. Match Group's own product research says nearly half of singles aged 18–29 want in-person shared experiences, and roughly three in five non-Tinder users say events would make them more likely to try Tinder. 5
Magnitude: The expansion is large in geographic terms, but the business pressure is also visible. Tinder revenue declined in the reported quarter, and monthly active users fell 7% year over year, an improvement only relative to the prior quarter's 8% decline. 5
Commercial signal: Tinder is adding a reason to open the app that does not depend on endless matching. Events can create local demand, put people into a shared context, and make the product feel less like a catalog of profiles. The partnership model keeps the test relatively light: Tinder can expand distribution without taking on the full cost of producing each event.
The harder question is measurement. More events and more cities do not prove that users return to the app, pay for subscriptions, or form relationships at a better rate. The product experiment only works if the offline feature improves the core online funnel rather than becoming a separate marketing calendar.
Watch next: Watch event attendance, new-user acquisition in the host cities, and whether event participants become paying Tinder users. The 75-city target is a rollout promise; retention is the proof point.
Signal removes a painful device handoff
What changed: Signal version 8.22 for iOS is rolling out a way to link another iPhone to an existing Signal account. During setup, users can optionally transfer their complete message history and the last 45 days of saved media. The transfer is end-to-end encrypted and uses Signal's existing link-and-sync technology. 6

Magnitude: This is a feature expansion with a concrete data boundary, not a new subscription tier. The 45-day media window is long enough to reduce the pain of moving to a new phone, while Signal still avoids implying that every historical attachment must be downloaded to every linked device.
Commercial signal: Signal is reducing the friction that makes a privacy-focused messenger harder to switch to or keep across devices. There is no new price to analyze. The strategic value is retention: once a user's history can move cleanly, changing phones is less likely to become a reason to fall back to a competitor with a more familiar multi-device setup.
The encrypted transfer is also part of the product position. Signal is not trading away its privacy promise to make device setup easier; the convenience feature is being built into the same security model.
Watch next: The next useful facts are Android-to-Android parity, cross-platform transfer, and how long a linked device can remain active without the primary phone. Those details will determine whether this is a narrow iOS improvement or a broader multi-device strategy.
Apple prepares to make the Windows boundary less visible
What changed: Apple is working on a cross-device clipboard feature that would let users in the European Union copy on an iPhone and paste on a Windows PC, and do the reverse. Users would need to grant permission before sharing the clipboard with paired devices. Microsoft would also be able to create an extension for sharing and importing pasteboard items with paired accessories. 7
Magnitude: The feature is not shipped. Apple says it expects to finish the work in fall 2027 and then provide a developer beta. The regional limitation is equally important: this is an EU interoperability change, not a global replacement for Apple's Universal Clipboard. 7
Commercial signal: This is a regulatory feature with a product consequence. Microsoft's request and the EU Digital Markets Act are pushing Apple to open a system behavior that previously reinforced the value of staying inside Apple's device stack. If the feature ships, an iPhone user will have one fewer reason to choose a Mac solely for cross-device continuity.
That does not make iPhone and Windows interchangeable. Apple's implementation can still control permissions, supported accessories, and the markets in which the bridge exists. But the direction is clear: some of the ecosystem's most useful friction is becoming negotiable when a regulator or platform partner can specify the interface.
Watch next: Ignore the announcement as a near-term product benefit until the developer beta exists. The meaningful tests will be permission defaults, supported Windows versions, clipboard security, and whether Apple expands the feature beyond the EU after the first rollout.
A price signal that did not make the main count
Bloomberg reported that DeepSeek plans a "significant" increase across its AI services, an unusual move for a company known for low prices. The accessible portion of the article gives a current V4 Flash reference of $0.14 per million input tokens and $0.28 per million output tokens, but it does not disclose the new rates or an effective date. 8
That is enough to put the warning on a buyer's watchlist, not enough to turn it into a quantified price move. The main seven items above keep their place because their change, rollout status, or before-and-after values can be stated from readable source material. DeepSeek should return to the comparison table only when the new rate card and effective date are public.
What to carry into the next issue
The strongest pattern this week is not a general price increase. It is selective permeability.
- OpenAI is opening ordinary text use while keeping costly modalities gated.
- Apple is lowering the net cost of replacement through trade-in credit, while also negotiating which ecosystem conveniences must cross into Windows.
- MacPaw is preparing to meter AI work inside a subscription surface instead of hiding every operation behind one flat price.
- Disney and Tinder are trying to rebuild the top of their funnels with free access or real-world activity when the core paid or online loop is under pressure.
- Signal is making a privacy product easier to keep across devices without adding a fee.
For competitive tracking, record four fields beside every change: what is free, what is metered, where it works, and when it actually ships. This week's announcements differ sharply on price, but those four fields explain where each company is placing the next boundary.
References
- 1ChatGPT brings unlimited text chats to free users
techcrunch.com
- 2
- 3
- 4
- 5
- 6
- 7Apple is working on iPhone-to-Windows copy-paste
theverge.com
- 8
This story was produced automatically by a channel. One sentence is all it takes for Neodrop to keep producing for you.
