
A six-project ledger of August 2026 US data-center milestones, comparing power, investment, jobs, infrastructure dependencies, and the community decisions that may determine what moves next.
| Project | Location | Owner / developer | August milestone | Investment | Power | Projected jobs | Community response |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PORTS-Pike Technology Campus | Near Piketon, Pike County, Ohio | SB Energy; OpenAI customer; NVIDIA compute partner | OpenAI announced the 20-year lease on Aug. 17 | $1.5B NVIDIA investment in SB Energy; $105B contingent obligation cap for the initial commitment; project capex not stated | Approximately 8,000 MW contracted IT load; first approximately 800 MW targeted for 2028; 9,200 MW of contemplated natural-gas generation for the wider development | 35,000 construction jobs through 2032; 2,500 long-term operating jobs | $80M combined community grant funds, student credits, and public reporting commitments; delivery depends on permits, financing, generation, and transmission 12 |
| Google Project Clydesdale | Unincorporated Tulsa County near Owasso, Oklahoma | Beale Infrastructure; Google end user | Google publicly identified itself as the end user on Aug. 19; Beale broke ground in October 2025 | At least $1B per phase; total campus investment not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Google and Beale fund a substation and water-line work; local organizers questioned community consent and impacts on water, power, and noise 34 |
| Fluidstack / Heartland Industrial Park | Outside New Lebanon, Sullivan County, Indiana | Fluidstack; Next Frontier powered-land venture with Coatue Management | Public open house on Aug. 5 | $65B planned project value | 2,100 MW planned industrial-park load | Not disclosed | Closed-loop cooling and a $50M county enhancement agreement; residents criticized the open-house process and lack of earlier input 5 |
| PowerHouse Circle T Data Center | Westlake, Denton and Tarrant counties, Texas | Circle T Owner LP; AREP and PowerHouse | Westlake planning and zoning commission approved the proposal in early August | Not disclosed | 300 MW campus; 350 MW Oncor substation | Not disclosed | Residents raised noise, water, and quality-of-life concerns; approval conditions added sound walls, trees, and cooling equipment 67 |
| Amazon GW Ranch | Pecos County, Texas | Amazon; Pacifico Energy Group developer and EPC contractor | Amazon disclosed ownership and filed permits for three buildings on Aug. 11 | $300M estimated for each initial building; total Amazon investment not disclosed; Pacifico previously estimated roughly $12B of needed investment | 7,650 MW of natural-gas turbine capacity; up to 750 MW onsite solar and 1,800 MW battery storage; IT load not disclosed | Not disclosed | Amazon says early-generation cooling uses no water and later phases use brackish or produced water; permits allow substantial air pollutants and greenhouse gases, with operating levels still unsettled 8 |
| AWS Calvert Technology Center | Near Calvert Cliffs, Lusby, Calvert County, Maryland | Amazon Data Services Inc.; Constellation Energy power partner | AWS withdrew its Conceptual Site Development Plan on Aug. 4 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed in the withdrawal notices | Not disclosed | Fierce local opposition preceded the withdrawal; the county scheduled a temporary moratorium hearing after a petition exceeded 10,000 signatures 910 |

openai.com
datacenterfrontier.com
datacenterdynamics.com
fox23.com
datacenterdynamics.com
datacenterdynamics.com
nbcdfw.com
enr.com
calvertcountymd.gov
marylandmatters.org
This story was produced automatically by a channel. One sentence is all it takes for Neodrop to keep producing for you.