Voicy Crossed $10K MRR. The Product Put Accurate Dictation in Every Input Field.

Voicy Crossed $10K MRR. The Product Put Accurate Dictation in Every Input Field.

Voicy shows $11,332 Stripe-verified MRR after a July 2026 $10k disclosure; the replicable wedge is ChatGPT-grade dictation inside every input field, sold through use-case SEO to people who type slowly, while ads failed and prior operating context remains a subsidy.

The short version

Voicy, a solo speech-to-text product by Kourosh Ghaffari (@BuildingWaves), shows $11,332 MRR on TrustMRR with Stripe verification as of August 26, 2026. 1 Ghaffari publicly marked the $10k MRR line on July 29, 2026 and said the climb took about a year and a half as a part-time solo business. 2
Loading content card…
The useful mechanism is narrow. ChatGPT-quality dictation already existed inside one chat app. Voicy's job is to put that accuracy into every text field on the computer, then sell it to people who type slowly because of age, disability, or accent. Growth that worked came from use-case SEO pages, Chrome Web Store discovery, YouTube, and LinkedIn. Paid ads and UGC failed.
That packaging is portable. The part-time grind next to a day job, the long SEO build, and whatever prior operating experience sits behind the founder's bio stay outside a cold-start checklist.

Snapshot

MetricPublic evidenceHow to read the number
MRR$11,332 on TrustMRR (Stripe-verified), updated August 26, 2026; founder $10k disclosure on July 29, 2026TrustMRR also lists $157,023 all-time revenue and $19k revenue in the prior 30 days. Plan mix and churn are not disclosed. 12
Active subscriptions1,393 active subscriptions on TrustMRRThis is a subscription count, not a unique-person count, and it is separate from free users. 1
Users / installsSite claims +10,000 happy users; Chrome Web Store listing shows 10,000 users and a 4.7/5 rating from 101 reviewsStore users and paying customers are different denominators; keep MRR away from the 10,000 figure. 34
TeamSolo founder; IndieNiche interview says no co-founders and no employeesFits the channel's ≤3 founder-team filter. 5
Product ageFounder: about 1.5 years to $10k by July 29, 2026; started charging in February 2025; IndieNiche interview dated August 13, 2025 already reported $1,600 MRRPublic timeline clears the ≥6-month product-age filter. TrustMRR's "Founded November 2025" field conflicts with those earlier disclosures, so treat November 2025 as an unverified dashboard field rather than the product start date. 125
Public pricingFree trial: 30 minutes, no card; Pro $8.49/month with annual billed as 20% off; Lifetime $260 one-time; Team $6.79/user/month (min 3); 20% disability and student discountsThe public page does not disclose monthly vs annual mix, lifetime share of revenue, or conversion rates. 6
FundingBootstrapped, per TrustMRRNo institutional round is disclosed in the public sources used here. 1
The public record gives a verified MRR and a subscription count. CAC, payback, churn, and the share of MRR by channel remain undisclosed.

Origin: a typing bottleneck OS dictation left open

The origin story is concrete. Ghaffari watched his father work on a laptop in London and type at roughly 15 words per minute. Native Mac and Windows dictation failed on his father's accent. ChatGPT's dictation was accurate, but it only worked inside ChatGPT. 57
The first product was a Chrome extension because Ghaffari was not ready to ship a desktop app. The MVP added a microphone control to text fields: click, speak, insert transcript. Build time was 2–3 months, with AI coding tools, on what he describes as his first fully coded project. 5
He later expanded to Windows, Mac, Linux, and mobile. The business still runs part-time beside day work; in August 2026 he said he launched while working 9–5 and was still working 9–5. 8

Wedge: put the accurate mic inside every input field

Voicy's wedge is the insertion point. The product's paid job is to put accurate dictation into the field where the user already writes, rather than to own a private speech model. The site positions Voicy as voice writing that works in Word, Outlook, Gmail, Docs, WhatsApp, Claude, ChatGPT, Notion, and "20,000+" other surfaces, with automatic punctuation and an AI rewrite step after transcription. 3
Voicy product screenshot showing an AI rewrite and punctuation pass on a dictated paragraph
Official product screenshot from usevoicy.com showing the post-dictation rewrite/punctuation surface; this is a product illustration, not evidence of customer outcomes. 3
That beats OS dictation on the jobs Ghaffari actually sold:
  • Accuracy and punctuation for accents and non-native speech where Apple/Windows dictation failed in his origin case. 7
  • One hotkey workflow that stays inside the current app instead of forcing the user into a separate chat window. 3
  • A buyer profile competitors under-serve: people with disabilities who struggle to type, mostly aged 35–60, rather than US tech-savvy power users. 5
Platform choice also matters. On August 26, 2026 Ghaffari wrote that 90% of Voicy users are on Windows, and framed "take a money-making Mac-only app and build it for Windows" as a revenue move. 9
The wedge is therefore a workflow claim: accurate speech enters the field where the user already works, for a buyer who needs that help every day. "Better UX" is too vague. The specific win is everywhere insertion + punctuation + accessibility positioning.

Pricing teardown: cheap recurring, lifetime cash, accessibility discounts

Voicy sells a free trial, then a low Pro price, then a lifetime escape hatch, then a team seat.
PlanPublic priceWhat the buyer gets
Free trial$0, 30 minutes of recording, no credit cardFull features long enough to prove the mic works in real apps
Pro$8.49/month, labeled annual with 20% offUnlimited recording, unlimited personal devices, desktop + mobile
Lifetime$260 one-timeSame personal unlimited access, paid once
Team$6.79/user/month, minimum 3 usersOrg seats, priority support, sales-assisted signup
Those prices are from Voicy's public pricing page. 6 The same page offers 20% disability and student discounts and states a "fair pricing policy": price will never be more than 20% above total costs.

Why this ladder fits the wedge

The trial is time-boxed proof. Thirty free minutes is enough to dictate real emails or documents. The paywall is unlimited use.
Pro at $8.49 is an accessibility-friendly recurring price. At TrustMRR's 1,393 active subscriptions and $11,332 MRR, average revenue per active subscription is roughly $8.14. That sits near the Pro sticker and implies the book is still dominated by low-ticket personal plans rather than large team contracts—though lifetime accounting and discounts can move that average. 16
Lifetime is the cash and commitment lever. In a November 19, 2025 thread, Ghaffari said customers kept asking for it, especially older users who dislike subscriptions; at that time lifetime was $220, LTV was about $75, MRR rose about 10% that month versus a usual 20%, and net volume jumped 108%. He worried about slower MRR growth, harder future sale of the company, and permanent API costs, then argued open-source models and possible on-device inference could drive those costs toward zero. 10 The current public price is $260. 6
Team pricing is the quiet upsell. It undercuts Pro per seat at $6.79, but only from three seats and through a contact flow. The public page does not show how much of current MRR comes from teams. 6
Still missing for a clone: plan mix, trial-to-paid conversion, lifetime versus recurring share, refund rate, and gross margin. A secondary X summary on August 26, 2026 claimed about $10.7k/month at 85% margins; treat that as a third-party retelling, and keep TrustMRR plus the founder's own posts as the operating numbers. 11

Acquisition channel: SEO first, ads last

On August 21, 2026 Ghaffari published a channel autopsy for the road to $10k MRR:
Loading content card…
His scorecard: 12
ChannelFounder verdict
SEOWorked hard
RedditFirst few customers; grind
YouTubeWorks; high time cost
LinkedInWorks; painful
UGCUsers, but low quality / high churn
Google AdsSpent $10k, roughly broke even
Meta AdsFailed; suspected account block
Twitter/XBarely tried
He said he should have doubled down on YouTube and SEO instead of opening new ad streams, and should have focused on one new channel at a time. 12

Dominant tactic 1: use-case SEO landing pages

In the August 13, 2025 IndieNiche interview, Ghaffari called SEO the best channel. Instead of generic blog posts, he built landing pages for specific jobs—speech-to-text for Microsoft Word, Gmail, and similar surfaces—about 20 pages at the time, using Ahrefs and Outrank. He reported roughly 2,000 monthly Google clicks and said 90% of traffic came from Google, with small amounts from YouTube, Reddit, and LLMs. 5
That matches the public site structure today: dedicated pages for Word, Outlook, Gmail, Docs, and related dictation jobs. 36
On August 4, 2026 he also posted that SEO to $10k MRR was "fully automated with @openclaw," and asked whether to publish the playbook or productize it. Which keywords ranked, what share of MRR SEO produced, and what the automation actually did remain undisclosed. 13

Dominant tactic 2: store and community discovery, then video/LinkedIn

First customers came from Reddit posts and organic Chrome Web Store traffic. Ghaffari's line: if you optimize the listing, the store puts it in front of people. 5 The listing still shows about 10,000 users. 4
YouTube later became a real revenue side path. On August 9, 2026 he posted $20/day from YouTube as an unexpected source. 14 LinkedIn is listed as working but miserable in the August 21 teardown. 12

What failed, and what slowed

Paid acquisition stayed flat or worse. Google Ads roughly broke even after $10k spend. Meta failed. UGC brought users who churned. 12
Growth also decelerated after the milestone. On August 17, 2026 Ghaffari said month-over-month growth fell from about 20% to 4%, and that the path from $10k to $100k looked harder. 15
The transferable acquisition pattern is therefore: bottom-of-funnel pages for the exact app someone wants to dictate into, plus a store listing that can carry early volume, plus slow founder media. The missing economics are channel-level MRR share, CAC, and conversion.

Replication checklist

A solo founder with enough product skill to ship an extension and a desktop wrapper could test the same mechanism under a different brand:
  1. Pick a buyer who types too slowly for the work they need to do. Disability, motor issues, age, or accent are sharper than "knowledge workers who want to go faster."
  2. Start where the text already lives. Ship an input-field overlay or global hotkey before building a standalone editor.
  3. Beat OS dictation on one painful failure mode. Accent handling, punctuation, or app coverage is a sharper wedge than a generic accuracy claim.
  4. Publish one landing page per target app. "Speech to text for Gmail / Word / Docs" pages beat a single homepage essay.
  5. Optimize the Chrome Web Store listing early. Treat screenshots, title, and reviews as acquisition assets, and keep store users separate from paid customers in your metrics.
  6. Price for daily use. A sub-$10 personal plan plus a time-boxed trial fits an accessibility tool people need every day.
  7. Offer lifetime only with eyes open. It can raise cash from subscription-averse buyers and slow reported MRR growth at the same time.
  8. Add Windows if the category is Mac-skewed. Ghaffari's own claim is that most of his users are on Windows. 9
  9. Force one acquisition channel to work before opening ads. His postmortem says SEO and YouTube deserved more focus than Meta/Google experiments. 12
  10. Measure the blanks this case leaves public. Trial-to-paid conversion, channel-attributed MRR, churn by cohort, lifetime share, and API cost per active user decide whether the clone is a business.

Honest assessment: advantages outside the product checklist

Portable pieces: everywhere-input wedge, accessibility positioning, use-case SEO pages, store listing craft, low personal price, lifetime option, Windows coverage.
Non-portable or only partly portable:
  • A day job that funds the grind. Ghaffari still describes Voicy as part-time beside 9–5 work. That is a subsidy for runway and a constraint on hours. 28
  • Prior operating context. On his public X account bio, visible beside his milestone posts, he lists a product role at Tiiny Host and a previous YC20 company. How much that background helped distribution or product judgment stays undisclosed, so name it as prior context rather than a free skill download. 12
  • A modest audience. TrustMRR shows about 1,388 X followers. The launch story here is grind and SEO. 1
  • Eighteen months of iteration and failed channels. The $10k line arrived after store traffic, Reddit grind, SEO pages, YouTube, LinkedIn, and burned ad tests. 12
  • Post-milestone deceleration. Growth slowing from ~20% to ~4% month-over-month is part of the public record. The slope after $10k flattened. 15
The advantage to name up front is endurance and judgment: a founder who kept shipping for more than a year on nights and weekends, then cut the channels that failed and pressed the ones that produced paying users.

Three lessons that generalize

  1. Move the proven capability to the place of work. Voicy moved ChatGPT-grade dictation into the field where the buyer already writes, then sold that to people OS dictation failed.
  2. Acquisition that matches the wedge beats channel FOMO. Use-case landing pages and store discovery fit a tool people search for by app name. UGC and ads produced weaker or break-even results in this public postmortem.
  3. Price for the real buyer, and keep cash separate from MRR theater. A low Pro price and accessibility discounts fit older and disabled users; lifetime deals raise cash while slowing the MRR curve. A clone needs both the sticker price and clean accounting for what lifetime does to reported growth.

Sources table

SourceWhat it establishes
TrustMRR VoicyStripe-verified $11,332 MRR; $157,023 all-time revenue; 1,393 active subscriptions; ~10,000 users claim; pricing summary; bootstrapped; August 26, 2026 update; founder identity.
Kourosh Ghaffari $10k MRR tweet (Jul 29, 2026)Public $10k MRR disclosure; ~1.5 year timeline; solo / part-time framing.
Kourosh Ghaffari channel teardown (Aug 21, 2026)SEO, Reddit, YouTube, LinkedIn vs failed UGC/Google Ads/Meta; focus lesson.
Kourosh Ghaffari growth slowdown tweet (Aug 17, 2026)Growth from ~20% to ~4% m/m after $10k.
Kourosh Ghaffari lifetime-deal thread (Nov 19, 2025)Lifetime rationale; then-$220 price; LTV ~$75; MRR vs volume tradeoff.
Kourosh Ghaffari Windows tweet (Aug 26, 2026)Claim that 90% of users are on Windows.
IndieNiche interview (Aug 13, 2025)Origin story; solo team; disability/35–60 audience; SEO landing-page tactic; ~2,000 Google clicks; early Reddit + Chrome Web Store customers; $1,600 MRR at interview time.
Voicy homepageProduct positioning; everywhere-input claim; feature set.
Voicy pricingFree trial, Pro $8.49, Lifetime $260, Team $6.79, discounts.
Chrome Web Store listing~10,000 users; 4.7/5 from 101 ratings; last updated May 21, 2026.
FounderBase UseVoicy interviewOrigin excerpt on ChatGPT dictation vs OS dictation and father's typing speed.

This story was produced automatically by a channel. One sentence is all it takes for Neodrop to keep producing for you.

Related content

More from this channel