Industry M&A Weekly: Airtable's $1.28B Sale, J&J's $2.6B Sail Option, and Four More

Industry M&A Weekly: Airtable's $1.28B Sale, J&J's $2.6B Sail Option, and Four More

Six disclosed deals across enterprise software, biotech, and fintech show buyers paying for workflow control, clinical optionality, and faster capital recycling.

The week in one view

Six disclosed transactions met the channel's inclusion bar between July 29 and August 5, 2026 (UTC). The largest completed-agreement value was Bending Spoons' $1.28 billion cash purchase of Airtable. In biotech, Johnson & Johnson paid $785 million up front for access to Sail Biomedicines and an option to buy the company for $2.58 billion; two other transactions paired public-market combinations with fresh clinical capital. Fintech's clearest entry was a $1.5 billion forward-flow commitment from Fortress to Wayflyer, which is financing capacity rather than an acquisition price.
DealSector and structureDisclosed economicsStatus at the cutoffWhy it matters
Bending Spoons / AirtableEnterprise software, cash acquisition$1.28B cash 1Agreement announced Aug. 4A public acquirer is buying a scaled workflow platform whose valuation has fallen sharply from its 2021 peak
Okta / Permiso SecuritySaaS security, almost all-cash acquisitionJust under $200M, source-reported; Okta did not disclose terms 2Expected to close in Okta fiscal Q3 2027Identity vendors are moving from human login toward continuous control of AI agents and machine identities
Johnson & Johnson / Sail BiomedicinesBiotech, collaboration plus acquisition option$785M up front, including $465M equity; $2.58B future purchase option 3Collaboration announced; option not exercisedJ&J buys time to validate in vivo CAR-T before committing to full ownership
Caldera / SynlogicBiotech, all-stock reverse merger plus private placement$278M financing; merger consideration not separately disclosed 4Expected to close by early 2027A young drug company gets a public listing and enough capital to enter Phase 2
Processa / VidyaBiotech, stock-for-stock acquisition plus private placementAcquisition price not disclosed as cash; approximately $200M financing 5Acquisition announced July 29; financing expected to close July 30The financing, not the stock exchange itself, supplies the runway for three parallel Phase 2 programs
Wayflyer / Fortress Investment GroupFintech, three-year forward-flow commitmentFortress to purchase up to $1.5B of eligible Wayflyer-originated assets 6Agreement announced July 30Institutional capital is moving into the origination rail, allowing a specialist lender to recycle capital faster

Deal notes

Bending Spoons buys Airtable at a steep reset

Bending Spoons agreed to buy Airtable for $1.28 billion in cash on August 4. Airtable said its annual recurring revenue was approximately $480 million as of June 2026, up more than 20% year over year. The buyer's announcement came shortly after Bending Spoons went public at an $18 billion valuation in July. 1
Airtable was founded in 2013 and has raised more than $1.4 billion. It combines spreadsheet-like interfaces with database and workflow functions and says it serves more than 500,000 organizations, including 80% of the Fortune 100. Its newer Superagent product line lets customers orchestrate teams of AI agents to perform tasks. 1
The strategic logic is unusually visible. TechCrunch describes Bending Spoons' acquisition pattern as buying companies trading below their private-market valuations, then cutting costs, streamlining products, and pushing them toward profitability. Airtable's private valuation had peaked above $11 billion in 2021 and was reported at about $4 billion in secondary-market trading earlier this year. The $1.28 billion price is therefore a bet on operating discipline and product durability, not a premium for growth at any price. Those valuation comparisons are context, not additional transaction consideration. 1

Okta adds Permiso's machine-identity controls

Okta agreed to acquire Permiso Security on July 30. Okta did not disclose the price, but TechCrunch reported that a source put the value at just under $200 million and described the consideration as almost all cash. Okta expects the deal to close in the third quarter of its fiscal 2027, subject to customary conditions. 2
Permiso emerged from stealth in 2022. Founded by former FireEye executives, it detects suspicious activity in cloud environments after a user or application has already obtained access. It has expanded into monitoring AI agents and other non-human identities. In April, it introduced SandyClaw, a sandbox for examining AI-agent skills for malicious behavior before deployment. Permiso has raised about $29 million, including an $18.5 million Series A led by Altimeter Capital. 2
Okta's stated rationale is to extend its identity-security fabric with identity threat detection and response. That puts the deal on the post-login side of identity: the buyer wants visibility into what software, applications, and AI agents do after they are authorized. The commercial question is whether Okta can turn Permiso's cloud-threat research into a broader control layer as customers deploy more autonomous software. The product adjacency is clear; the revenue contribution is not yet disclosed. 2

J&J pays for access before ownership of Sail

Johnson & Johnson's agreement with Sail Biomedicines is a collaboration with an exclusive option to acquire the company, not a completed acquisition. J&J is paying $785 million up front, including a $465 million equity investment. It can later acquire Sail for $2.58 billion if it exercises the option. Sail's lead program, SAIL-0839, remains preclinical. 3
The technology is "in vivo" CAR-T: instead of removing a patient's cells, engineering them in a laboratory, and reinfusing them, the approach aims to reprogram immune cells inside the body. Sail combines work on "endless RNA" inherited from Senda Biosciences with programmable nanoparticles from Laronde, the two Flagship Pioneering-backed companies that merged to form Sail in 2023. Sail has four preclinical programs. 3
J&J already has cell-therapy exposure through Carvykti, its multiple-myeloma treatment co-developed with Legend Biotech. The Sail agreement extends that position toward a simpler and potentially more scalable delivery model, with autoimmune disease as a major area of interest. The structure lets J&J finance the platform and see more data before paying the full purchase price. That reduces acquisition timing risk, but it leaves the eventual $2.58 billion commitment contingent on preclinical and clinical progress. 3

Caldera uses Synlogic to reach the public markets

Synlogic and Caldera Therapeutics agreed to combine in an all-stock transaction. Both companies will become wholly owned subsidiaries of a new holding company, which plans to operate as Caldera Therapeutics and apply to trade on Nasdaq under "CALD." The deal's purchase consideration is not separately disclosed. Caldera did disclose a concurrent private placement expected to generate approximately $278 million. 4
The financing syndicate includes Bain Capital Life Sciences, TCGX, Atlas Venture, venBio Partners, Omega Funds, Blackstone Multi-Asset Investing, LAV, Wellington Management, Janus Henderson Investors, and Vivo Capital, among other institutions. The capital is expected to fund Phase 2 development of CLD-423 in ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease, with runway projected into 2029. The transaction is expected to close by early 2027, subject to shareholder, registration, and other customary conditions. 4
CLD-423 is a bispecific antibody designed to inhibit the TL1A and IL-23p19 pathways at the same time. It was in a Phase 1 healthy-volunteer trial in Australia when the transaction was announced. Caldera holds exclusive worldwide development and commercialization rights under a license from Qyuns Therapeutics. The design includes an extended half-life mutation and is intended to support dosing every eight or twelve weeks, although those are development goals rather than an approved regimen. 4
For Caldera, Synlogic supplies the public-company route and a shareholder base; the new money supplies the clinical runway. For Synlogic, which had previously pursued strategic alternatives after its phenylketonuria program struggled, the transaction shifts the company toward supporting a new inflammatory-disease asset. The ownership split makes the economics clearer than the headline merger: pre-merger Caldera holders are expected to own 62.8% of the combined company, private-placement investors 34.9%, and pre-merger Synlogic holders 2.3%, subject to a net-cash adjustment. 47

Processa buys Vidya, then funds three shots on goal

Processa Pharmaceuticals announced the acquisition of Vidya Therapeutics on July 29. The acquisition is structured as a stock-for-stock exchange; the release does not state a cash purchase price. Alongside it, Processa announced an approximately $200 million private placement, with investors including Bain Capital Life Sciences, Janus Henderson Investors, RA Capital Management, SilverArc Capital, Cormorant Asset Management, and others. The financing was expected to close July 30. 5
Vidya's asset is VT-7208, a once-daily oral covalent Bruton tyrosine kinase inhibitor designed to penetrate the central nervous system. Vidya says the molecule is intended to be more selective than earlier BTK inhibitors, with lower off-target activity and a potentially lower liver-toxicity risk. Phase 1 was complete at announcement, and Processa planned Phase 2 proof-of-concept studies in food allergy, chronic spontaneous urticaria, and relapsing multiple sclerosis. 5
The financing is the strategic center of the deal. Processa expects it to fund operations into the second half of 2029 and support data readouts across the three programs in 2027 and 2028. On a fully diluted, as-converted basis, former Vidya holders are expected to own about 46.0% of Processa after the transactions and the placement investors about 52.6%; pre-deal Processa holders would own about 0.9%. The stock exchange brings the asset into the public company, but the $200 million determines how much clinical work can happen in parallel. 5

Fortress gives Wayflyer a larger lending rail

Wayflyer and funds managed by affiliates of Fortress Investment Group signed a three-year forward-flow agreement on July 30. Fortress will purchase up to $1.5 billion of eligible assets originated through Wayflyer's platform. Wayflyer says the commitment could help it deploy up to $4.5 billion to small businesses over the next 24 months. The $1.5 billion is a purchase commitment for financing assets, not equity invested in Wayflyer and not the acquisition value of the fintech. 6
Wayflyer launched in 2020 and provides fast, non-dilutive working capital to consumer brands. Its underwriting uses data and analytics; the company says it has deployed more than $6 billion to thousands of brands. In a forward-flow structure, Wayflyer originates loans, sells eligible receivables to the committed buyer, recycles the proceeds, and avoids warehousing every asset on its own balance sheet. 6
Fortress described the deal as a way to source asset-backed credit through a scaled, data-driven origination channel. Wayflyer described it as a way to serve more small businesses while managing its balance sheet more efficiently. That alignment matters: the buyer is underwriting the loan flow and the platform's credit performance, rather than buying a software company or taking an equity stake. 6

Themes across the six deals

The asset being bought is a control layer

Airtable brings control over how teams organize data and workflows. Permiso extends control over what AI agents and cloud identities do after authorization. Wayflyer turns underwriting data into a repeatable lending channel. In each case, the buyer is paying for a position inside an operating system: a place where future activity will be routed, monitored, or financed. The common thread is an embedded capability, not simply a large user count. 126

Biotech buyers are paying for optionality, then funding the proof

J&J put $785 million to work before deciding whether to buy Sail outright. Caldera and Processa paired stock-based combinations with $278 million and approximately $200 million of new capital, respectively. The structures differ, but the sequence is similar: secure a differentiated asset, then fund the clinical milestones that can change its value. The disclosed prices also show why the headline number needs a label. J&J's $2.58 billion is an option price; the Caldera and Processa figures are financing commitments, not separately disclosed purchase prices. 345

Capital structure is part of the transaction thesis

This week's six entries include a cash purchase, an almost-all-cash security acquisition, a collaboration with an acquisition option, two public-market biotech combinations, and a forward-flow financing line. Those are different contracts, not interchangeable deal labels. The terms answer different questions: who controls the asset now, who supplies future capital, what must happen before closing, and which milestone unlocks the next payment. For readers comparing deal flow, structure is as important as the headline dollar amount.

Coverage note

This issue covers disclosures from July 29 through the August 5 publication cutoff in UTC. Six transactions had enough accessible information on terms, status, buyer rationale, and target or platform background to meet the channel's minimum. Caldera/Synlogic and Processa/Vidya did not disclose separate cash purchase prices; their financing amounts are shown as financing. The Okta/Permiso value is a TechCrunch source estimate rather than an Okta-disclosed term. Wayflyer and Processa are supported by official company releases because the configured media whitelist did not expose the needed detail pages for those terms. Reported approaches, rumor-only items, and transactions with no usable economics were left out.

Este contenido lo produjo un canal automáticamente. Con una sola frase, Neodrop puede seguir produciendo para ti.

Contenido relacionado