
US Data Center Tracker: 6 August Milestones From PORTS-Pike's 8 GW Lease to AWS's Calvert Withdrawal
A six-project ledger of August 2026 US data-center milestones, comparing power, investment, jobs, infrastructure dependencies, and the community decisions that may determine what moves next.
The August 1-31, 2026 window brought six US data-center milestones from a large Ohio lease and a Texas behind-the-meter power complex to a Maryland withdrawal. The entries below use the same ledger: location, owner or developer, milestone, investment, power, projected jobs, and community response. Power figures distinguish data-center IT load from generation capacity; dollar figures distinguish capital spending from lease value or a developer estimate; jobs distinguish construction work from permanent operations.
August at a glance
| Project | Location | Owner / developer | August milestone | Investment | Power | Projected jobs | Community response |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PORTS-Pike Technology Campus | Near Piketon, Pike County, Ohio | SB Energy; OpenAI customer; NVIDIA compute partner | OpenAI announced the 20-year lease on Aug. 17 | $1.5B NVIDIA investment in SB Energy; $105B contingent obligation cap for the initial commitment; project capex not stated | Approximately 8,000 MW contracted IT load; first approximately 800 MW targeted for 2028; 9,200 MW of contemplated natural-gas generation for the wider development | 35,000 construction jobs through 2032; 2,500 long-term operating jobs | $80M combined community grant funds, student credits, and public reporting commitments; delivery depends on permits, financing, generation, and transmission 12 |
| Google Project Clydesdale | Unincorporated Tulsa County near Owasso, Oklahoma | Beale Infrastructure; Google end user | Google publicly identified itself as the end user on Aug. 19; Beale broke ground in October 2025 | At least $1B per phase; total campus investment not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Google and Beale fund a substation and water-line work; local organizers questioned community consent and impacts on water, power, and noise 34 |
| Fluidstack / Heartland Industrial Park | Outside New Lebanon, Sullivan County, Indiana | Fluidstack; Next Frontier powered-land venture with Coatue Management | Public open house on Aug. 5 | $65B planned project value | 2,100 MW planned industrial-park load | Not disclosed | Closed-loop cooling and a $50M county enhancement agreement; residents criticized the open-house process and lack of earlier input 5 |
| PowerHouse Circle T Data Center | Westlake, Denton and Tarrant counties, Texas | Circle T Owner LP; AREP and PowerHouse | Westlake planning and zoning commission approved the proposal in early August | Not disclosed | 300 MW campus; 350 MW Oncor substation | Not disclosed | Residents raised noise, water, and quality-of-life concerns; approval conditions added sound walls, trees, and cooling equipment 67 |
| Amazon GW Ranch | Pecos County, Texas | Amazon; Pacifico Energy Group developer and EPC contractor | Amazon disclosed ownership and filed permits for three buildings on Aug. 11 | $300M estimated for each initial building; total Amazon investment not disclosed; Pacifico previously estimated roughly $12B of needed investment | 7,650 MW of natural-gas turbine capacity; up to 750 MW onsite solar and 1,800 MW battery storage; IT load not disclosed | Not disclosed | Amazon says early-generation cooling uses no water and later phases use brackish or produced water; permits allow substantial air pollutants and greenhouse gases, with operating levels still unsettled 8 |
| AWS Calvert Technology Center | Near Calvert Cliffs, Lusby, Calvert County, Maryland | Amazon Data Services Inc.; Constellation Energy power partner | AWS withdrew its Conceptual Site Development Plan on Aug. 4 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed in the withdrawal notices | Not disclosed | Fierce local opposition preceded the withdrawal; the county scheduled a temporary moratorium hearing after a petition exceeded 10,000 signatures 910 |
1. PORTS-Pike: an 8 GW lease with a long infrastructure tail
OpenAI announced on Aug. 17 that it had signed a 20-year lease for the PORTS-Pike Technology Campus near the former Portsmouth Gaseous Diffusion Plant near Piketon in Pike County, Ohio. SB Energy will build, own, and operate the site; OpenAI will be the customer, and NVIDIA will supply the exclusive compute platform. The first roughly 800 MW is expected in 2028, while the initial NVIDIA-backed build is about 4.25 IT GW. 1
- Investment: NVIDIA announced a $1.5B investment in SB Energy. The initial commitment carries contingent aggregate obligations capped at $105B. That cap describes residual-value and credit-support exposure, not confirmed construction spending. Data Center Frontier puts the transmission build at roughly $4.2B and describes a wider development of about 10 GW. 2
- Power: The contracted figure is approximately 8,000 MW of IT load. Data Center Frontier separately reports about 9,200 MW of contemplated natural-gas generation for the overall development. Generation capacity and IT load are different measures. 2
- Jobs: SB Energy projects 35,000 construction jobs across the six-year buildout through 2032 and 2,500 long-term operating jobs. 1
- Community response: OpenAI and SB Energy describe a "pay your own way" model. OpenAI committed $40M to a community grant fund, alongside $40M previously announced by SB Energy, plus $84M in Codex credits for Ohio students. The partners also committed to annual reporting on hiring, investment, water, and energy. OpenAI says the design uses closed-loop, air-cooled systems. The remaining execution questions are permits, environmental review, financing, generation, and transmission. 12
The August change is therefore the conversion of a large power-and-compute concept into a named customer lease with a staged delivery plan. The first 800 MW target gives the project a measurable next checkpoint; the full 8 GW remains a much longer buildout.
2. Project Clydesdale: Google names the end user after the ground is broken
Google confirmed on Aug. 19 that it is behind Project Clydesdale, a 506-acre development in unincorporated Tulsa County just west of Owasso and beside Cherokee Industrial Park. Beale Infrastructure is the developer. Beale broke ground in October 2025, so August's milestone was the public identification of the end user rather than the start of construction. 34
- Investment: The plan has at least one phase and as many as three additional possible phases. Each phase is about 200,000 square feet. The reported private investment rose from at least $700M to $1B per phase; a total campus figure has not been disclosed. 3
- Power: Not disclosed in the opened project accounts. Google and Beale will fund an onsite substation, but the substation's capacity was not stated. 3
- Jobs: A project-specific jobs total was not disclosed. Google said it plans an electrical training alliance that would add more than 160 apprentices in Oklahoma by 2030, a workforce program rather than a Clydesdale headcount. 4
- Community response: Google and Beale are funding about 1.5 miles of new water lines and upgrades for Washington County Rural Water District No. 3. Google also said it had contributed more than $2M to Tulsa-area workforce and community efforts over the prior two years. Stop Data Colonialism coordinator Cheyenne Morgan said residents lacked genuine community consent and raised water, power, noise, and other impacts. The Tulsa Regional Chamber said the project had been vetted for more than two years. 34
Clydesdale has a visible construction start and a named hyperscale customer, while its public record still leaves the load and jobs fields open. The next useful check is phase-specific disclosure rather than a larger campus headline.
3. Heartland Industrial Park: a $65B plan meets its first public forum
Fluidstack held a public open house on Aug. 5 for its planned data-center project at Heartland Industrial Park outside New Lebanon in Sullivan County, Indiana. The roughly 1,000-acre site sits between County Road 400 West and the Merom Generating Station. Fluidstack is the named AI cloud company; Next Frontier is the related powered-land venture established with Coatue Management. Tenants have not been disclosed. 5
- Investment: The planned project value is $65B. Phase I sought no tax incentives, according to the company. 5
- Power: The planned industrial park load is 2,100 MW, with operations targeted for 2027. 5
- Jobs: Not disclosed.
- Community response: Fluidstack said closed-loop cooling would keep water use very low and said the project would not raise local electricity rates. The company also committed $50M to Sullivan County through an enhancement agreement, split between Phase I and Phase II. Residents quoted in the local reporting summarized by Data Center Dynamics remained unconvinced, criticizing the scripted format of the open house and the lack of earlier public input. 5
The open house changed the public record more than the construction record. The project supplied a value, a load, and a target year, while the tenant and jobs fields remain unresolved. Community acceptance is now part of the schedule risk because residents are questioning how the project is being presented and reviewed.
4. Circle T: Westlake approves a 300 MW campus with more gates ahead
Westlake's planning and zoning commission approved the PowerHouse Circle T proposal in early August. The site covers about 87.96 acres at 13580 Denton Highway near US 377 and Westport Parkway, across Denton and Tarrant counties. Circle T Owner LP is the owner; AREP and PowerHouse represent the development. The plan allows up to four 300,000-square-foot buildings totaling more than 1M square feet. 67
- Investment: Not disclosed.
- Power: The planned campus load is 300 MW. PowerHouse paid Oncor for a 350 MW substation, at no cost to Westlake residents; the substation will also serve the town pump station. 6
- Jobs: Not disclosed.
- Community response: Residents raised noise, water-use, and quality-of-life concerns. NBC 5 DFW reported estimated water use of about 54M gallons per year. The approval added sound walls, more trees, and cooling devices. The first building is allowed by right; later buildings require a specific-use permit. 67
Circle T has passed one local approval while retaining additional approval steps for the later buildings. The substation arrangement addresses one part of the infrastructure question; the water and noise conditions show which local impacts still shape the build.

5. GW Ranch: Amazon discloses a power complex built around the campus
Amazon confirmed on Aug. 11 that it acquired the GW Ranch project in remote Pecos County, Texas. Pacifico Energy Group is developing the 8,000-plus-acre campus and is responsible for engineering, procurement, and construction. Amazon filed permits for three initial data-center buildings, each about 189,000 square feet. 8
- Investment: Each initial building is estimated at $300M. Amazon has not disclosed a total investment. Pacifico previously estimated roughly $12B of required investment; that figure is a developer estimate, not an Amazon capital-spending disclosure. 8
- Power: The project includes 35 natural-gas turbines capable of 7,650 MW, up to 750 MW of onsite solar, and 1,800 MW of battery storage. The data-center IT load was not disclosed. Generation capacity and storage capacity therefore cannot be read as the campus's IT demand. 8
- Jobs: Not disclosed.
- Community and environmental response: Amazon says initial power-generation cooling requires no water. Amazon says later phases will use brackish groundwater or produced water rather than community drinking water. ENR reports that Texas permits allow more than 12,000 tons per year of regulated air pollutants and up to 33M tons per year of greenhouse gases; actual operating emissions and turbine use remain unresolved. 8
The project is designed to begin outside the grid and may later seek grid-connected service. Texas Gov. Greg Abbott announced a statewide ERCOT data-center audit on Aug. 3, so future filings will show whether the state's review changes that path. 8
6. AWS Calvert: the approval fight ends in a formal withdrawal
AWS formally withdrew its Conceptual Site Development Plan on Aug. 4 and said it would not pursue the Calvert Technology Center near the Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant in Lusby, Calvert County, Maryland. Amazon Data Services Inc. was the applicant, and Constellation Energy would have been the power partner. The proposal covered multiple campuses totaling 2.4M square feet. 910
- Investment: Not disclosed.
- Power: Not disclosed in the county withdrawal notice or the Maryland Matters account.
- Jobs: Not disclosed.
- Community response: AWS attributed the decision to infrastructure priorities, development timelines, operational requirements, and its ability to deliver quickly. The county and AWS did not officially attribute the withdrawal to opposition. Maryland Matters reported fierce voter pushback during the June 23 primary: three incumbent commissioners who opposed a pause lost their primaries, and a petition against the project exceeded 10,000 signatures. The county scheduled an Aug. 18 hearing on a temporary six-month moratorium for data-center site-plan approvals. 910
Calvert is a status reversal rather than an active build. The project matters for the tracker because the withdrawal followed a visible local approval conflict, and the county's moratorium could affect what proposals are eligible for review next.
What August changed
Four execution gates recur across the six entries.
- Power delivery is becoming part of the project boundary. PORTS-Pike pairs an 8,000 MW contracted IT load with a contemplated 9,200 MW natural-gas generation build and about $4.2B of transmission infrastructure. GW Ranch pairs a data-center campus with 7,650 MW of gas turbines, solar, and batteries. Circle T's 300 MW load comes with a 350 MW Oncor substation. Those figures measure different things, but each project puts generation or grid equipment beside the data-center plan. 268
- Public commitments are increasingly specific while core operating metrics remain uneven. PORTS-Pike publishes construction and operating job counts; Clydesdale publishes an apprentice target but no project jobs or MW; Circle T publishes a water estimate but no investment or jobs; GW Ranch publishes generation equipment but no IT load or jobs. The missing fields are themselves useful September follow-ups because they determine whether public scale claims can be compared on one ledger. 1478
- Community response is affecting project conditions and public timelines. Heartland's open house drew criticism about process, Circle T's approval added noise and landscaping conditions, and Calvert's opposition was followed by a formal withdrawal and a proposed moratorium. The sequence does not establish that opposition alone caused AWS's decision; the company cited its own infrastructure and timing priorities. 57910
- A headline milestone can leave the build at different stages. Clydesdale already had a groundbreaking before Google named itself; PORTS-Pike has a lease and a first-power target; Heartland has a public open house and a 2027 target; Circle T has one approval but more permits ahead; GW Ranch has permits for three buildings; Calvert has exited the pipeline. The next investigation should therefore start with the project's actual gate, rather than treating every announcement as equivalent. 135689
September watch list
- PORTS-Pike: permits, environmental review, financing, transmission procurement, and evidence that the first 800 MW remains on the 2028 path.
- Project Clydesdale: phase-specific construction progress, disclosed MW demand, and a project-specific jobs count.
- Heartland Industrial Park: county approvals, tenant disclosure, the terms and timing of the $50M enhancement agreement, and evidence that the 2027 operating target has a construction path.
- Circle T: specific-use permits for the later buildings, final water and sound conditions, and any disclosed investment or jobs figures.
- GW Ranch: permit developments, actual emissions controls and operating assumptions, water sourcing, and any ERCOT or grid-connection filings.
- AWS Calvert: the county's moratorium outcome and any revised data-center siting rules after the AWS withdrawal.
Fuentes de referencia
- 1OpenAI
openai.com
- 2Data Center Frontier
datacenterfrontier.com
- 3Data Center Dynamics
datacenterdynamics.com
- 4FOX23
fox23.com
- 5Data Center Dynamics
datacenterdynamics.com
- 6Data Center Dynamics
datacenterdynamics.com
- 7NBC 5 DFW
nbcdfw.com
- 8ENR
enr.com
- 9Calvert County
calvertcountymd.gov
- 10Maryland Matters
marylandmatters.org
Este contenido lo produjo un canal automáticamente. Con una sola frase, Neodrop puede seguir produciendo para ti.
Contenido relacionado
More from this channel›
- US Data Center Tracker: 5 July Milestones From Meta's 5 GW Louisiana Expansion to Palm Beach's Project Tango Vote
- US Data Center Tracker: Tract's 900 MW Virginia Filing, Microsoft's La Porte Build, and Lee County's 90 MW Test
- US Data Center Tracker: Google's $15B Missouri Campus, Applied Digital's 300 MW Lease, and Utah's 9 GW Battle
